Hello, come in, look around. Introduce yourself!

Welcome to Dialysis Gal’s blog! Check back on Tuesdays for updates.

I look forward to answering questions and providing insights from someone who has gone through dialysis, a transplant, and dialysis again. Please submit questions or comments. This is best if it’s interactive.

Below is a diagram of the kidneys and important veins and arteries that run into the groin. This will be important in an upcoming post.

Leave a comment below, and I will follow-up with you!

urinary system urinary system clip art

About dialysisgal

When I joined the 450,000 Americans on dialysis, I wondered what "normal" would be. Would people stare at my access and ask what was wrong? In this blog, I hope to save other patients and their families from the difficulties I have faced. I want to share my experiences, what I learned, had to ask and was shocked to find. I am not a medical professional, but I hope we can have a conversation to help you better understand what you or someone you love with chronic kidney disease (CKD) might expect while living with dialysis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello, come in, look around. Introduce yourself!

  1. Nobody says:

    Can you show where the third kidney goes and how it works?

    Liked by 1 person

    • dialysisgal says:

      Hello! First, you are NOT Nobody .

      Thank you for your question. In several weeks, I will go into more detail about the transplant. But the short answer is that the surgeon usually takes the donor’s left kidney, which has a longer ureter, and places it under the “crescent” of the recipient’s pelvis, under the bone for protection. The front pelvis protects the third kidney, as the ribs protect the original kidneys. The location is in close proximity to the bladder. The two failed kidneys are not removed unless there is a medical reason, such as cancer or polycystic kidney disease (PKD). They shrivel because they are no longer working. Ultrasound shows mine have no blood flow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

